• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Internal Project


Identity and Intercultural Interaction in Post-Soviet Space: experience of Russia and former USSR countries (ТЗ 47_2016)

 

Heads of project 
Nadezhda Lebedeva, Tenured Professor, National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia.
John Berry, Professor Emeritus, Queen's University, Canada.  
 

Project description

Internal ethnic diversity and active foreign immigration contribute the formation of multiculturalism in modern Russia. Russian culture is gradually changing, and a civil (national) identity is forming among the population of Russia. However, the formation of national identity at individual and group levels does not always runs smoothly. Low level of national (civic) identity in the high importance of ethnic and religious identity among representatives of various ethnic and cultural groups in the multicultural country poses a threat to its integrity and may lead to intergroup, interpersonal and intrapersonal conflicts (e.g., between ethnic/religious and ethnic/civil identity). This raises the need to identify socio-psychological determinants of balance (at the individual and group levels) between the consevation of ethnic culture and its inevitable change in the process of mutual acculturation of different ethnic groups within a single multicultural country.

To understand the mechanisms and outcomes of integration of migrants into the host society is extremely important to study, in particular, and psychological factors that contribute to achievement of socio-economic position in the process of acculturation. This enable migrants to participate fully in social and economic life of the host country.

The authors of the project plan to implement an integrated approach to the analysis of factors affecting the conservation and change of the interacting cultures: the national culture (the culture of the dominant majority) and ethnic culture (culture of ethnic minorities). The study of socio-psychological factors influencing the interaction of ethnic and national on the individual and group levels, is extremely relevant for modern Russia and neighboring post-Soviet countries.

In Russia there are more than 200 ethnic groups who speak more than 130 languages. Migration, ethnicity and language are key components of cultural change. However, the influence of these factors on educational achievement of children in modern Russia are little studed. 


Research aim
The goal of this project is to identify socio-psychological factors (identity, interethnic attitudes, social beliefs, values) that contribute to achieving integration between ethnic minorities and ethnic majority in the former Soviet Union. .

Staff involved
J.Berry, V.Galyapina, D. Grigoryev, L.Grigoryan, M. Drobovtseva, M. Klyass, M. Kotova, N.Lebedeva, Z.Lepshokova, A. Lipatova, O.Poluektova, T.Ryabichenko, A. Tatarko, E. Tovar-García, I. Rezvanova.

 



 

 


 

Have you spotted a typo?
Highlight it, click Ctrl+Enter and send us a message. Thank you for your help!

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Российский проект

Идентичность и межкультурное взаимодействие на постсоветском пространстве: опыт России и стран бывшего СССР (ТЗ 47_2016)

Руководители проекта

Лебедева Н.М., ординарный профессор НИУ ВШЭ
Джон Берри, профессор Queen's University (Канада)

Описание проекта

В формирование поликультурности современной России вносит вклад не только внутреннее этническое многообразие, но и активная внешняя иммиграция. Общероссийская культура постепенно изменяется, и у населения России формируется общегражданская (национальная) идентичность. Однако формирование национальной идентичности на групповом и индивидуальном уровнях далеко не всегда протекает гладко. Низкий уровень национальной (общегражданской) идентичности при высокой значимости этнической и религиозной идентичности у представителей различных этнокультурных групп в составе поликультурного государства создает угрозу для его целостности и может приводить к межгрупповым, межличностным и внутриличностным конфликтам (например, между этнической/религиозной и национальной/гражданской идентичностью). В этой связи возникает потребность в выявлении социально-психологических детерминант достижения баланса (на индивидуальном и групповом уровнях) между сохранением этнической культуры и ее неизбежным изменением в процессе взаимной аккультурации различных этнических групп в составе единого поликультурного государства.

Для понимания механизмов и результатов интеграции мигрантов в принимающее общество крайне важно, изучать, в том числе, и психологические факторы, способствующие достижению в процессе аккультурации определённого социально-экономического положения, позволяющего мигрантам полноценно участвовать в социальной и экономической жизни общества принимающей страны.

Авторами проекта планируется реализация комплексного подхода к анализу факторов, влияющих на сохранение и изменение взаимодействующих культур: национальной культуры (культура доминирующего большинства) и этнических культур (культуры этнических меньшинств). Изучение социально-психологических факторов, влияющих на взаимодействие этнического и национального на индивидуальном и групповом уровнях, является чрезвычайно актуальным для современной России и сопредельных постсоветских стран.

В России проживают более 200 этнических групп, которые говорят более чем на 130 языках. Миграция, этничность и язык являются ключевыми компонентами культурных изменений. Тем не менее, влияние этих факторов на образовательные достижения детей в современной России мало изучено.

Цель данного исследования

Выявление социально-психологических факторов (идентичность, межэтнические установки, социальные представления, ценности), способствующих достижению интеграции между этническими меньшинствами и этническим большинством на постсоветском пространстве.

Вовлеченные сотрудники

Дж. Берри, В.Н. Галяпина, Д.С. Григорьев, Л.К. Григорян, М.В.Дробовцева, М.В.Клясс, М.В.Котова, Н.М. Лебедева, З.Х.Лепшокова, А.С. Липатова, О.В.Полуэктова, Т.А.Рябиченко, А.Н. Татарко, Э.Д.Товар-Гарсиа, И.Ю. Резванова.


 

Нашли опечатку?
Выделите её, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и отправьте нам уведомление. Спасибо за участие!